HLLHLLLogins
Banner Image

Research Guide: Government, Regulation & Tax Law: Databases

Government, Regulation & Tax Law

BNA's Benefits Practice Center Law Access, Walk-In Access

Benefits Practice Center addresses frequently tax-driven areas of employment law by combining Employee Benefits Library, ERISA Compliance Enforcement Library, and Executive Compensation Library. Some of the included materials are full-text judicial opinions, rulings and memoranda; current reports on news and developments; analysis and guidance; and BNA Portfolios (in-depth analysis of a particular issue or transaction).

CCH Tax Research Network Law Access, Walk-In Access

The CCH Tax Research Network is part of CCH's platform called Intelliconnect. Intelliconnect provides access to laws, regulations and other primary source material in addition to explanations, treatises, and practice tools. Practice areas covered are Labor & Employment, Securities, Health Care, Corporate Governance, Tax and Accounting. You must create an account the first time you access the database. A Flash tutorial is available (Flash is required to use this site).

GovernmentDocs.org Open Access

The Citizens for Responsibility and Ethics in Washington (CREW), along with other non-profits, offers the GovernmentDocs.org website.  The site provides "an unprecedented level of access to government documents. . . acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)" and other disclosure laws.  Each documents is made available in PDF.  Users may also review outstanding FOIA requests.

Homeland Security Digital Library Hamline Access

This electronic resource includes homeland security documents collected from a wide variety of sources.  These sources include federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies. A team of librarians and subject-matter specialists select and evaluate the library contents.

Internal Revenue Service Open Access

This official site offers extensive primary legal materials, guidance for taxpayers, tax forms, and many other free publications.

LOUIS (Library Of Unified Information Sources) Open Access

LOUIS (Library Of Unified Information Sources) is a project of the Sunlight Foundation.  Their goal is to create a "comprehensive, completely indexed and cross-referenced depository of federal documents from the executive and legislative branches of government."

PolicyArchive Open Access

PolicyArchive is a project of the Center for Governmental Studies (CGS), in conjunction with the Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis Library.  The site provides a digital archive for public interest organizations.  Topics range from agriculture to transportation and include givernment, law and ethics, and politics.

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission Open Access

The site offers information regarding Investor Assistance and Complaints; the EDGAR Database of Corporate Information;SEC News Digests and Public statements (press releases, speeches by SEC officials, Congressional testimony); and SEC Rulemaking (final rules, proposed rules, interpretive releases; SEC Enforcement Division (litigation releases, administrative proceedings, initial decisions by Administrative Law Judges, Commission opinions, Small Business information).

Hamline University Law Library | 1536 Hewitt Avenue Saint Paul, MN 55104-1237 | 651.523.2125